{BOOK REVIEW} A Thousand Beginnings and Endings by Ellen Oh

Book Reviews

ihitbsq
fu7zoar
defkk7x

I don’t remember when the last time I read an anthology book, and I think that last time made me realize that anthologies were not my cup of tea. But, as I saw the synopsis of this book, it made me think again that “I will try this time.”

And then I’m happy to announce that from the first story of this book, it made me continue to read it until the very end. I enjoyed every story and myths in every part of the world. Those stories want to convey that myths are not meant to be forgotten. And that time, I realized that the myths here in the Philippines are legendary, and the others also.

For the reading experience, I really enjoyed it, though there were other stories that were not good for me. It was still an okay, but not on the same level as the others.

I cannot give them the ratings one by one, because the important was the full reading experience I felt before, during and after reading it.

And I am glad to say, that I am recommending this book to everyone!

fu7zoar

c9rt1yo
 

Star-crossed lovers, meddling immortals, feigned identities, battles of wits, and dire warnings. These are the stuff of fairy tale, myth, and folklore that have drawn us in for centuries.

Fifteen bestselling and acclaimed authors reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate.

Compiled by We Need Diverse Books’ Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, the authors included in this exquisite collection are: Renee Ahdieh, Sona Charaipotra, Preeti Chhibber, Roshani Chokshi, Aliette de Bodard, Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Rahul Kanakia, Lori M. Lee, E. C. Myers, Cindy Pon, Aisha Saeed, Shveta Thakrar, and Alyssa Wong.

A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother’s mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place. From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. For fans of Neil Gaiman’s Unnatural Creatures and Ameriie’s New York Times–bestselling Because You Love to Hate Me.

goodreads-button
fu7zoar
aepjp74
 

My favorite story in this book was the “Maria Makiling”. Aside from the fact that it was a myth from the Philippines, it was the reason why I read the whole book until the very end.

And the story wants to express that don’t judge easily on the things we only see, we must still know the other side of it.

Because of today’s events, there are people who are easily judged because of just they saw, and not getting the whole story. I am not saying that I am not like that, but this story made me realized that let’s became fair all the time.

h2s9joh

4 thoughts on “{BOOK REVIEW} A Thousand Beginnings and Endings by Ellen Oh”

Leave a Reply